Our Proud Sponsors:


Loading Events

← Back to Events

Delta Deas Rowing Club


The first rowing event on the Deas Slough was a BC Championship held  May 10 and 11, 1986. The event was a resounding success.  As a result, retired rowing Olympians Lyle Gatley, Joy Fera, and Bill McKerlich worked with other eager volunteers to form a Society;  the Delta Deas Rowing Club was incorporated on December 3, 1986.
Coaches Murray Johnson and Lyle Gatley prepared students for the 1987 B.C. Summer Games hosted by Delta Deas Rowing Club.  West Shore terminals provided a dock for that event.
The following year, the GVRD gave approval for DDRC to operate in Deas Park.  With the help of a “Go B.C.” grant and donations from the Delta Credit Union and Delta Cablevision, ground breaking for the Boathouse took place in March 1988.
South Delta Secondary School students from Mr. Gatley’s Building Construction class, along with others, worked for many months on the project, completing it in time to host the B.C. Youth Championships in 1989.

Mailing address:
Delta Deas Rowing Club
P.O. Box 33007
11198  84th Street
Delta, BC   V4C 8E6

Copyright of The Delta Deas Rowing Club
Extract from

There were no results found.

Our Proud Sponsors: